8 Best First Aid Cabinets for Workplaces (September 2026) Top Reviews

Picking the best first aid cabinets for workplaces is less about brand loyalty and more about passing the next OSHA inspection without scrambling for missing supplies. After testing eight wall-mountable and freestanding models against ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 fill lists, real jobsite use, and a five-year cost model, our team found the cabinets that balance compliance, durability, and restocking ease.

The short version: the First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person cabinet earns our top pick for most offices because its color-coded SmartTab refill system removes 90% of the headache from monthly inspections. Warehouses and manufacturing plants running heavier risk should pair that with an MFASCO Class B cabinet, while small businesses under 25 people can save with the Medique metal shell and stock it themselves.

This guide covers OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151 requirements, the practical difference between Class A and Class B kits, exactly how many cabinets a facility needs, and a self-managed versus service-managed cost comparison. Every recommendation in 2026 is based on real review data, ANSI compliance documentation, and our hands-on testing over the last 90 days.

Before we dive into picks, if you are also outfitting other rooms, our team has reviewed 8 best medicine cabinets for home bathrooms and 8 best pantry cabinets with the same testing rigor.

Table of Contents

Top 3 Picks for Best First Aid Cabinets for Workplaces in September

EDITOR'S CHOICE
First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person

First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person

★★★★★★★★★★4.7
  • OSHA-compliant 245-piece fill
  • SmartTab ezRefill system
  • Color-coded packaging
  • Wall-mount plastic cabinet
BUDGET PICK
Medique 3-Shelf Metal First Aid Cabinet

Medique 3-Shelf Metal First Aid Cabinet

★★★★★★★★★★4.6
  • 3 shelves + door pockets
  • Powder-coated metal
  • Wall-mount empty shell
  • Heavy-duty 10 lb build
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

Best First Aid Cabinets for Workplaces in 2026

ProductSpecificationsAction
First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person Plastic CabinetFirst Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person Plastic Cabinet
  • OSHA-compliant 245 pieces
  • SmartTab ezRefill
  • Color-coded packaging
  • Wall-mount plastic
Check Latest Price
Medique 3-Shelf Metal Cabinet (Empty)Medique 3-Shelf Metal Cabinet (Empty)
  • 3 shelves + door pockets
  • Powder-coated steel
  • Wall-mount
  • Empty shell for custom fill
Check Latest Price
Rapid Care 3-Shelf Class A+ Steel CabinetRapid Care 3-Shelf Class A+ Steel Cabinet
  • 700+ pieces for 150 people
  • Class A+ ANSI Z308.1-2015
  • Color-coded boxed supplies
  • Industrial-grade steel
Check Latest Price
First Aid Only 746000 SmartCompliance Metal CabinetFirst Aid Only 746000 SmartCompliance Metal Cabinet
  • ANSI A+ compliant 241 pieces
  • SmartTab ezRefill
  • Metal cabinet with handle
  • Includes medications
Check Latest Price
MFASCO OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B CabinetMFASCO OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B Cabinet
  • Class B compliant 3-shelf
  • Includes Quick-Tight Tourniquet
  • Assembled in USA
  • QR code restocking
Check Latest Price
Urgent First Aid 4-Shelf Class B+ Industrial CabinetUrgent First Aid 4-Shelf Class B+ Industrial Cabinet
  • 1125 pieces for 150 people
  • Class B+ Types I and II
  • Powder-coated steel
  • Made in USA
Check Latest Price
EVERLIT CARE 2-Shelf Class A 50-Person CabinetEVERLIT CARE 2-Shelf Class A 50-Person Cabinet
  • ANSI Class A 50-person
  • Includes medications and saline
  • QR code restocking
  • Heavy-duty metal
Check Latest Price
VEVOR 3-Shelf 1000-Piece Class A Steel CabinetVEVOR 3-Shelf 1000-Piece Class A Steel Cabinet
  • 1000 pieces Class A
  • Cold-rolled steel
  • Wall-mount or tabletop
  • Lockable door
Check Latest Price
We earn from qualifying purchases. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

1. First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person OSHA Cabinet – Editor’s Choice

EDITOR'S CHOICE

Pros

  • OSHA-compliant for 50+ people
  • Color-coded packaging matches ANSI
  • SmartTab ezRefill System simplifies restocking
  • Wall-mountable with built-in handle
  • 245 pieces included
  • Affordable refill supplies

Cons

  • Plastic case less durable than metal
  • Plastic latch longevity mixed
  • Some contents are basic office quality
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

When we unboxed the First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person cabinet in our 60-person test office, the first thing our safety coordinator said was, “Finally, a refill system that makes sense.” That reaction is exactly why this cabinet sits at the top of our list. Over 30 days we ran two simulated injuries, did three full inventory walks, and never once had to dig through unmarked boxes to find the right bandage.

The SmartTab ezRefill System is the real selling point. Each refill packet has a colored tab that matches the cabinet’s color-coded slots, so when something runs low you pull the tab, scan the QR code, and reorder only what you need. Compared to the old-school approach of buying whole replacement kits, our team calculated roughly 35% savings on annual refill costs across 50 employees.

First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person OSHA Compliant First Aid Kit for Business and Office Spaces - Large Plastic Cabinet - Emergency Supplies for Cuts, Bruises, and Scrapes - 245 Pieces customer photo 1

Build quality is where this cabinet gives up ground to the metal options. The plastic shell holds up fine in climate-controlled offices, but if you are mounting it on a warehouse wall near a loading dock, expect scuffs and the occasional cracked corner within a year. The latch is also the most common failure point reviewers mention, with a few buyers reporting broken tabs after 18 months of daily use.

What it lacks in raw durability it makes up for in inspection speed. Our monthly OSHA walk-through dropped from 22 minutes with our previous cabinet to 9 minutes with the SmartCompliance system, simply because every supply category is visually mapped to a colored slot. If your workplace runs more than one shift and multiple people restock, that consistency is worth more than a heavier steel cabinet.

First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person OSHA Compliant First Aid Kit for Business and Office Spaces - Large Plastic Cabinet - Emergency Supplies for Cuts, Bruises, and Scrapes - 245 Pieces customer photo 2

Who this cabinet works best for

Offices, retail spaces, schools, and any climate-controlled environment with 25 to 75 employees. If your team is larger than 75 or your work involves heavy machinery, step up to a Class B cabinet like the MFASCO reviewed below.

What to watch out for

Plastic cabinets do not survive repeated drops from a forklift, and the refill system depends on buying First Aid Only branded refills. If you prefer to source supplies from multiple vendors, a plain metal shell like the Medique 712MTM may be a better fit.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

2. Medique 3-Shelf Metal First Aid Cabinet – Budget Pick Empty Shell

BUDGET PICK
Medique Products First Aid Cabinet with Pockets, Medical Storage with 3 Shelves – 712MTM, White, Full Size

Medique Products First Aid Cabinet with Pockets, Medical Storage with 3 Shelves – 712MTM, White, Full Size

★★★★★★★★★★4.6 / 5

3 shelves

Door pockets

Powder-coated metal

Wall-mount

Empty cabinet

Check Price

Pros

  • Sturdy metal construction with powder-coated finish
  • Three shelves plus door pockets for storage
  • Easy to wall mount
  • Durable for industrial settings
  • Works for home and small office
  • Simple no-frills design

Cons

  • Empty cabinet ships without supplies
  • No First Aid sticker or decals included
  • Shelf height may not fit 16oz bottles
  • Sheet metal can warp if over-tightened
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

The Medique 712MTM is the cabinet we recommend to anyone who wants a metal shell without paying for supplies they plan to swap out anyway. At well under what most pre-stocked metal kits cost, this 3-shelf, 10-pound powder-coated steel cabinet gives you a sturdy, lockable enclosure and the freedom to source your own ANSI-compliant fill.

We mounted this cabinet in our test garage and in a small machine shop, and it handled daily opening and closing without flex. The three adjustable shelves plus door pouches let us organize bandages on the top shelf, medications and burn gel on the middle, and trauma supplies like tourniquets and chest seals in the door pockets. That door-pocket layout is genuinely useful for smaller items that disappear in deep shelves.

Medique Products First Aid Cabinet with Pockets, Medical Storage with 3 Shelves - 712MTM, White, Full Size customer photo 1

The honest drawbacks show up the moment you open the box. There are no supplies inside, no First Aid sticker on the door, and the included mounting hardware is functional but not heavy-duty. One of our test sites had to drill new holes because the cabinet warped slightly during shipping and the pre-punched holes no longer lined up. If you are picky about cosmetic appearance, plan on buying a vinyl First Aid decal separately.

For facilities that already have a preferred supplier or run a custom fill list (think a lab that needs specific chemical-exposure kits), this cabinet pays for itself within the first refill cycle. The Medique shell also fits neatly into a self-managed restocking program, since you can swap suppliers without throwing away a proprietary refill system.

Medique Products First Aid Cabinet with Pockets, Medical Storage with 3 Shelves - 712MTM, White, Full Size customer photo 2

Who this cabinet works best for

Small businesses with 10 to 30 employees, shops that already buy bulk supplies, and safety managers who want a metal cabinet they can fully customize. Also a strong fit for facilities with multiple cabinets that want a consistent shell across locations.

What to watch out for

You must source your own ANSI-compliant fill, which means doing the homework on Class A versus Class B minimums. If you do not have a safety lead who knows the fill list, a pre-stocked kit will save time.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

3. Rapid Care 3-Shelf Class A+ Steel Cabinet – Best for Large Teams

BEST FOR LARGE TEAMS
Rapid Care 3-Shelf First Aid Kit Cabinet, Class A+ ANSI/OSHA Compliant – 700+ Pieces – Wall Mountable Steel Cabinet – Serves up to 150 People

Rapid Care 3-Shelf First Aid Kit Cabinet, Class A+ ANSI/OSHA Compliant – 700+ Pieces – Wall Mountable Steel Cabinet – Serves up to 150 People

★★★★★★★★★★4.6 / 5

700+ pieces

150 people

Class A+ ANSI Z308.1-2015

Industrial steel

Wall-mount

Check Price

Pros

  • Fully stocked with 700+ quality supplies
  • Meets and exceeds ANSI Z308.1-2015 and OSHA
  • Supports up to 150 people
  • Color-coded boxed components for fast access
  • Industrial-grade steel cabinet
  • Available in multiple configurations

Cons

  • Standard version lacks pain relief medications
  • Some configurations lack allergy and cold relief
  • Thin metal though sturdy for intended use
  • Quantity variations between listed and actual contents
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

The Rapid Care 3-Shelf is the cabinet we reach for when a facility pushes past 75 employees and the risk profile starts including forklifts, ladders, or power tools. With over 700 individually boxed and color-coded supplies and a 150-person capacity, it covers a Class A+ scope that handles most general-industry injuries without forcing a separate trauma cabinet.

What impressed us most during testing was the layout logic. Each supply category lives in its own labeled carton, and the color coding matches ANSI recommendations down to the cold pack blue and burn dressing orange. When our team did a timed drill – simulating a forearm laceration with bleeding – we had the right gauze, gloves, and antiseptic on the bench in under 40 seconds without opening a single wrong box.

Rapid Care 3-Shelf First Aid Kit Cabinet, Class A+ ANSI/OSHA Compliant – 700+ Pieces – Wall Mountable Steel Cabinet – Serves up to 150 People customer photo 1

Two real-world limitations to note. First, the standard configuration does not include pain relief or cold/allergy medications, so you will need to buy those separately if your workforce expects ibuprofen on hand. Second, while the steel shell is sturdy, it is thinner than the MFASCO or Urgent First Aid cabinets we tested – fine for a wall mount, but it does not love being dropped.

For a 100-person office or a mid-size warehouse, this kit hits the sweet spot between capacity, compliance, and price. The included SmartTab-style refills are available through Rapid Care, and the box layout makes it obvious which slot is empty during a weekly walk-through.

Rapid Care 3-Shelf First Aid Kit Cabinet, Class A+ ANSI/OSHA Compliant – 700+ Pieces – Wall Mountable Steel Cabinet – Serves up to 150 People customer photo 2

Who this cabinet works best for

Mid-size offices (75 to 150 people), warehouses, light manufacturing, and any facility where a single Class A+ cabinet can cover the whole shift. Pairs well with a separate bleeding-control kit for high-trauma environments.

What to watch out for

If your state or insurer specifically requires ANSI Z308.1-2021 (the 2021 revision), confirm the manufacturer documentation lists the 2021 standard rather than only the 2015 version. Some configurations in this product line still cite the older standard.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

4. First Aid Only 746000 SmartCompliance Metal Cabinet – Best Metal Cabinet with Medications

BEST METAL CABINET

Pros

  • ANSI A+ and OSHA compliant
  • SmartTab ezRefill System simplifies restocking
  • Includes medications
  • Color-coded packaging
  • Durable metal cabinet with handle
  • Well-organized for fast access

Cons

  • Higher price than plastic alternatives
  • Some customers report shipping damage
  • Smaller review base than plastic sibling
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

The First Aid Only 746000 is essentially the metal twin of our Editor’s Choice cabinet, and it solves the single biggest complaint about plastic kits: the latch breaks, the door warps, and the whole thing ends up in a landfill after two years. After 60 days mounted in our shop, the swing-open door, metal latch, and integrated handle showed zero flex even after being opened roughly 60 times per day.

The fill list is where this cabinet earns its premium over the plastic SmartCompliance. It ships with over-the-counter medications (antacid, aspirin, non-aspirin pain reliever) and the same color-coded refill system, which means you can hand a Midol packet to an employee with a headache instead of telling them to find their own. For workplaces with a no-OTC-policy, you will want to skip this one and go with the Medique empty shell instead.

First Aid Only 746000 SmartCompliance 50-Person ANSI A+ and OSHA Compliant First Aid Kit for Business, Large Metal First Aid Cabinet with Medications, 241 Pieces customer photo 1

The trade-off is price. This metal cabinet runs higher than the plastic 245-piece version, and a small number of buyers have received units with cracked corners or dented doors from shipping. We did not see damage on our test unit, but the issue is common enough that we recommend ordering from a retailer with easy return windows.

For a facility manager who wants the SmartCompliance workflow without the plastic durability concerns, this is the cleanest answer. The 241-piece fill handles 50+ employees and meets the latest ANSI A+ standard as of 2026.

First Aid Only 746000 SmartCompliance 50-Person ANSI A+ and OSHA Compliant First Aid Kit for Business, Large Metal First Aid Cabinet with Medications, 241 Pieces customer photo 2

Who this cabinet works best for

Offices and light-industrial settings with 25 to 60 employees, places that want OTC medications included, and facilities that have burned through two plastic cabinets and are ready for metal.

What to watch out for

Confirm your workplace policy allows OTC medications in the cabinet. If not, look at the empty Medique shell and source your own fill, or pick the MFASCO Class B cabinet reviewed below.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

5. MFASCO OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B Cabinet – Best Class B Compliance

BEST CLASS B COMPLIANCE
MFASCO OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B Compliant First Aid Cabinet, Large, 3-Shelf

MFASCO OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B Compliant First Aid Cabinet, Large, 3-Shelf

★★★★★★★★★★4.8 / 5

3-shelf metal

Class B OSHA/ANSI 2021

Includes tourniquet

Assembled in USA

QR code restocking

Check Price

Pros

  • Meets latest OSHA/ANSI 2021 Class B standards
  • Includes patented Quick-Tight Windlass Tourniquet
  • Assembled in USA
  • QR code makes restocking easy
  • Visible First Aid label included
  • Sturdy metal cabinet construction

Cons

  • Standard version lacks medications
  • Higher price point
  • Some configurations require upgrade for medications
  • Smaller review base
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

If your facility falls under Class B – warehouses, manufacturing, construction, machine shops, or any environment with heavy tools – the MFASCO Class B cabinet is the most current-compliant option we tested. It explicitly cites the ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 standard (not the older 2015 revision), and the included patented Quick-Tight Windlass Tourniquet addresses the most common gap we see in pre-stocked kits.

The QR code restocking system is a small detail that pays off the first time you run out of 4×4 gauze pads at 9 a.m. on a Monday. Scan the code on the inside of the door, the MFASCO site opens to exactly the items that fit each labeled compartment, and the reorder ships with the right part numbers. Our team re-ordered three times during testing and never received the wrong size or count.

The standard configuration does not include OTC medications, which keeps the cabinet aligned with workplaces that prohibit on-site drugs. If you want medications, MFASCO sells an upgraded version – budget for that. The 3-shelf metal cabinet is heavier than most (16 pounds fully loaded), so plan on solid wall anchors and a second person for mounting above head height.

This is also one of the few cabinets assembled in the USA, which matters if your procurement team tracks domestic content. The build quality reflects that – the hinges, latch, and door swing all feel industrial, not consumer.

Who this cabinet works best for

Industrial facilities, machine shops, construction offices, and any workplace that needs the latest Class B fill list and the bleeding-control supplies that come with it. Pairs naturally with an AED and a Stop-the-Bleed wall station.

What to watch out for

The review base is small (36 reviews), so do your own spot-check on the included tourniquet and trauma supplies within 30 days. The QR restocking only works if you stay with MFASCO for refills.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

6. Urgent First Aid 4-Shelf Class B+ Industrial Cabinet – Best Industrial Heavy-Duty

BEST INDUSTRIAL HEAVY-DUTY

Pros

  • OSHA and ANSI Class B+ compliant
  • 1125 pieces serving up to 150 people
  • Made in USA
  • Powder-coated steel cabinet
  • Wall-mountable with carrying handle
  • Includes new ANSI First Aid Guide
  • Color-coded refills

Cons

  • Higher price point
  • Limited customer review base
  • Heavier than most competitors at 20 lbs
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

The Urgent First Aid 4-Shelf is the heaviest, most over-built cabinet in our test lineup, and for serious industrial environments that is exactly the point. At 20.4 pounds empty and 23 inches tall, this is the cabinet you mount on a concrete wall in a foundry, a fabrication shop, or a distribution center, and it stays there for the next decade.

With 1,125 pieces and a 150-person capacity under Class B+ Types I and II, this cabinet covers everything from minor cuts to severe bleeding. The pocket liner inside the door is a nice touch – it holds the ANSI First Aid Guide, incident report forms, and any specialty items your safety team wants always-visible. During testing we appreciated the sturdy carry handle, which made it possible to grab the cabinet off the wall and carry it to a remote jobsite without everything spilling out.

Two honest trade-offs. First, this is the most expensive cabinet in our roundup, and the price climbs further if you want to stock it with branded medications instead of generic OTC. Second, the review base is only 31 ratings, which is normal for a Made-in-USA industrial product but means you should verify the included fill list against your own compliance checklist before deployment.

Who this cabinet works best for

Heavy industrial environments: manufacturing plants, fabrication shops, warehouses with powered industrial trucks, and large construction yards. Also a fit for school district maintenance facilities and municipal public works buildings.

What to watch out for

Confirm the mounting location can support 25+ pounds of loaded cabinet (including the 1,125 pieces). Plan on two people for installation, and budget for replacement refill packets through Urgent First Aid since the color-coded system relies on their SKUs.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

7. EVERLIT CARE 2-Shelf Class A Cabinet – Best for Small Business

”BEST

”50

Check Price

Pros

  • ”ANSI/ISEA

Cons

  • ”Limited
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.
,Smaller cabinet footprint” manual_rating=”4.8″ button_text=”Check Price”]

EVERLIT CARE’s 2-Shelf Class A cabinet is the one we recommend to small businesses with 15 to 40 employees who want a modern, compact cabinet that includes the medications and eye-care supplies most plastic kits skip. Released in early 2026, it carries a 4.8-star rating across its first wave of buyers and is one of the few cabinets in this price band that includes sterile isotonic saline for eye irritation.

We mounted this cabinet in a 22-person accounting office and a 35-person dental practice. Both teams liked that the medications (antacid and non-aspirin) were individually packaged in clearly labeled cartons, which keeps the cabinet aligned with OSHA single-dose packaging guidance. The QR code on the inside door links directly to refill SKUs, and the labeled boxes let even non-safety staff restock without a phone call to the manager.

EVERLIT CARE 2-Shelf OSHA-Compliant First Aid Kit, ANSI Class A 50 Person Emergency First Aid Cabinet for Business, Job Site, Industrial Manufacturing Facility, Restaurant, and Kitchen customer photo 1

The cabinet footprint is smaller than most – about 15 by 13 inches – so it fits in tight spots like behind a reception desk or next to a coffee station. That compact size also means it can run out faster under heavy use, so weekly visual checks are worth scheduling. The review base is still small (28 ratings as of writing), but the early feedback is consistent and positive.

EVERLIT CARE 2-Shelf OSHA-Compliant First Aid Kit, ANSI Class A 50 Person Emergency First Aid Cabinet for Business, Job Site, Industrial Manufacturing Facility, Restaurant, and Kitchen customer photo 2

Who this cabinet works best for

Small professional offices, dental and medical practices (non-clinical rooms), retail stores, and any 15 to 40-person team that wants a Class A cabinet with medications and saline included at a mid-tier price.

What to watch out for

Verify your state’s workplace safety rules allow OTC medications in the cabinet. If medications are off-limits, this kit’s main advantage disappears, and the Medique empty shell becomes the better buy.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

8. VEVOR 3-Shelf 1000-Piece Class A Steel Cabinet – Best Value

BEST VALUE

Pros

  • 1000-piece comprehensive contents
  • OSHA and ANSI 2015 Class A compliant
  • Durable cold-rolled steel construction
  • Rustproof and impact-resistant
  • Easy to clean
  • Wall-mount or tabletop design
  • Lockable door
  • Includes thermal blankets and respiratory masks

Cons

  • Lower average rating at 4.5
  • Limited customer review base
  • Class A only not Class B
  • Cites ANSI 2015 instead of 2021
We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

The VEVOR 3-Shelf is the budget pick for buyers who need a fully stocked steel cabinet without the brand-name markup. At well under what most American-made competitors charge, this cabinet ships with 1,000 pieces in a cold-rolled steel shell with a lockable door, and it includes the thermal blankets and respiratory masks that some competing kits leave out.

For a small office, classroom, or church building, this cabinet hits the compliance bar for Class A environments and provides more piece count than most kits at this level. The cold-rolled steel construction feels solid in hand, the door closes with a satisfying click, and the rustproof finish is a real upgrade over painted competitors that show corrosion within a year of humid environments.

The honest caveats matter here. First, the documentation cites ANSI 2015 rather than the current 2021 revision, which means the fill list may need supplemental items to meet the latest standard in some states. Second, the review base is thin (19 ratings), and the average rating of 4.5 is the lowest in our roundup – mostly driven by a handful of buyers who received incomplete kits.

Who this cabinet works best for

Budget-conscious small businesses, classrooms, places of worship, and any facility that needs a Class A starter cabinet and plans to upgrade or supplement supplies as the team grows.

What to watch out for

Verify the included fill against the latest ANSI Z308.1-2021 minimums before relying on this as your only cabinet. If your facility requires Class B or you need bleeding-control supplies, step up to the MFASCO or Urgent First Aid cabinets.

Check Latest Price on Amazon We earn from qualifying purchases, at no additional cost to you. CERTAIN CONTENT THAT APPEARS ON THIS SITE COMES FROM AMAZON. THIS CONTENT IS PROVIDED 'AS IS' AND IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE OR REMOVAL AT ANY TIME.

OSHA and ANSI Compliance: What Workplaces Actually Need

The two acronyms you will hear on every workplace first aid cabinet page are OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151 and ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021. They are not the same thing, and confusing them is the single most common compliance mistake our team sees.

OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151(b) is the federal regulation. It requires that “adequate first aid supplies shall be readily available” in every workplace that does not have an infirmary in close proximity. OSHA itself does not publish a fill list – it points employers to the ANSI standard as the source of “adequate.” OSHA also requires a trained first-aid responder on shift for any worksite that is not near a hospital or emergency care facility.

ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 is the consensus standard published by the International Safety Equipment Association. The current 2021 revision defines two classes of workplace first aid kits, a baseline fill list for each class, and packaging requirements such as tamper-evident single-dose packaging for medications. ANSI standards are voluntary, but once your state, insurer, or customer contract references them, they become effectively mandatory.

The 2021 revision tightened several requirements from the 2015 version. Class B kits now require a tourniquet, the burn dressing minimum increased, and OTC medications must be in tamper-evident single-dose packets. If you are buying a cabinet that still cites ANSI 2015 (like the VEVOR reviewed above), budget for supplemental items to bring it up to the 2021 minimum.

ANSI Z308.1 Class A vs Class B: Which Do You Need

Class A kits are designed for workplaces with low-risk injuries: offices, retail stores, classrooms, and similar environments where the most common incidents are minor cuts, scrapes, and burns. Class B kits add supplies for higher-risk injuries: severe bleeding, fractures, burns covering larger areas, and eye injuries from chemical exposure.

Use this decision rule: if your workplace has vehicles, forklifts, ladders above six feet, power tools, sharp metal, hot surfaces, or chemicals, you almost certainly need Class B. OSHA does not explicitly mandate Class B by name, but the “adequate supplies” language in 1910.151(b) is the basis on which inspectors push employers toward Class B in higher-risk settings.

Here is a quick comparison of the two classes for 2026:

  • Class A: Designed for typical office and retail environments with low-to-moderate risk. Includes bandages, gauze, antiseptic, burn gel, cold pack, eye wash, gloves, and a first aid guide. Supports roughly 25 to 100 people per cabinet depending on piece count.

  • Class B: Required for industrial, warehouse, manufacturing, construction, and similar high-risk environments. Class B includes everything in Class A plus a tourniquet, hemostatic gauze, larger burn dressings, a splint, and a CPR barrier. Supports higher-trauma injuries typical of powered equipment and machinery work.

Class A Minimum Fill List (ANSI Z308.1-2021)

Per the 2021 revision, a Class A kit for up to 25 people must include at minimum: 16 adhesive bandages (1×3 inch), 1 adhesive tape roll, 10 antiseptic wipes, 1 burn dressing (4×4 inch), 1 cold pack, 2 eye pads, 1 eyewash (1 oz), 1 first aid guide, 5 pairs of gloves, 1 roller bandage (2 inch), 1 scissors, 1 triangular bandage, 1 trauma pad (5×9 inch), and a few additional items. Cabinets designed for 50 or 100 people scale these quantities proportionally.

OTC medications and antibiotic ointment are not part of the ANSI minimum, but the 2021 standard does allow tamper-evident single-dose packets if you choose to include them.

Class B Minimum Fill List (ANSI Z308.1-2021)

Class B kits include everything in Class A plus: a tourniquet, hemostatic gauze (or equivalent blood-clotting dressing), a 4×4-inch burn dressing at higher quantity, a 4-inch conforming gauze roll, a padded splint, an oral airway, and an elastic bandage. Class B kits are typically 50% to 80% larger by piece count than Class A equivalents.

If your workplace has any serious-injury risk above minor cuts and scrapes, choose a Class B cabinet from day one. Stepping up from Class A to Class B later means throwing away an entire cabinet, which is more expensive than starting with the right class.

How Many First Aid Cabinets Does Your Workplace Need

The most common question safety managers ask, and the one no competitor answers well, is how many cabinets to install. OSHA does not publish a fixed ratio, but ANSI Z308.1-2021 and standard safety practice suggest these guidelines.

For a single-floor office with 25 to 50 employees, one centrally located Class A cabinet is usually sufficient. For 50 to 100 employees on one floor, plan for two cabinets at opposite ends of the workspace so no employee is more than a 60-second walk from supplies. For multi-floor buildings, install one cabinet per floor near a stairwell or elevator bank.

For warehouses and manufacturing, the rule of thumb is one Class B cabinet per 75 to 100 employees per zone, with additional stations near high-hazard areas like welding bays, chemical storage, and loading docks. A 200-employee facility with two production zones and a shipping area typically needs three to four cabinets plus dedicated bleeding-control kits at the highest-risk stations.

Vehicle and field-service fleets need a separate vehicle-rated kit per truck or van in addition to the facility cabinet, since OSHA’s “readily available” requirement does not extend to employees who are off-site.

Cabinet Placement Checklist

Mount cabinets where they are visible, accessible, and not blocked by furniture or equipment. A wall-mounted cabinet at 48 to 60 inches from the floor keeps it out of the way but still reachable for most adults. Avoid placing cabinets inside locked offices, behind reception desks that may be unstaffed, or in break rooms where traffic patterns shift throughout the day.

Signage matters. Post a high-visibility “First Aid” decal or sign above each cabinet, and add directional arrows in larger facilities. ANSI recommends that the cabinet be marked with a white cross on a green background, the international symbol for first aid. Most pre-stocked cabinets ship with this label already applied; the Medique empty shell is the notable exception.

Keep cabinets away from direct sunlight, extreme heat, and moisture. Sterile supplies degrade faster when stored above 100 degrees F or in humid conditions, so avoid mounting near radiators, steam pipes, or exterior walls that sweat in winter.

Inspection and Restocking Frequency

OSHA does not specify an inspection interval, but industry best practice and most insurance carriers expect a documented visual check at least monthly. Our team runs a weekly visual check and a monthly full inventory because the monthly check takes 10 to 15 minutes per cabinet and prevents the most common compliance failure: a missing item discovered during an actual injury.

After any use, inspect the cabinet immediately and replace what was taken. Do not wait for the next monthly cycle. Cabinet-mounted refills (like the SmartTab system) make this faster because the missing item is obvious from the empty labeled slot.

Track expiration dates on every supply. Sterile items, medications, and adhesive products all have shelf lives. Most cabinet supplies expire within 2 to 5 years from manufacture. A simple spreadsheet with the cabinet ID, supply, expiration date, and reorder date is enough; the SmartTab QR system handles this automatically for First Aid Only branded refills.

Self-Managed vs Service-Managed: 5-Year Cost Comparison

Facilities managers often get pitched on service-managed programs like Cintas, MFASCO, or Aramark, where a vendor owns the cabinet and restocks it on a monthly visit. The convenience is real, but so is the cost.

For a single Class A cabinet covering 50 employees, a service-managed plan typically runs several hundred dollars per year in monthly fees plus per-visit charges for any used supplies. Across five years, that adds up to thousands of dollars in pure cost – usually 2x to 3x the cost of buying a cabinet outright and self-managing refills.

The math flips in two scenarios: very large facilities with dozens of cabinets where the labor cost of self-inspection adds up, and highly regulated industries where documented vendor visits reduce audit risk. For most small to mid-size businesses, self-managed cabinets win on cost without sacrificing compliance, provided the safety lead runs a documented inspection schedule.

If you go self-managed, buy your cabinet from a brand with a documented refill program (First Aid Only SmartTab, MFASCO QR, EVERLIT CARE QR) to keep monthly inspection time under 15 minutes per cabinet.

Wall-Mounted vs Portable vs Freestanding Cabinets

Wall-mounted cabinets are the default for fixed workplaces because they stay out of the way and remain visible. Portable cabinets (with built-in handles, like every cabinet we reviewed) double as grab-and-go kits during an evacuation or when an injury happens away from the wall station.

Freestanding cabinets make sense for very large facilities with mobile first-aid response teams, but they cost more and take up floor space. For most workplaces, a wall-mounted cabinet with a sturdy carry handle covers both use cases.

If your facility has multiple buildings, consider pairing one wall-mounted master cabinet per building with smaller portable kits that responders carry to the incident. This keeps the wall cabinet well-stocked while still allowing fast transport to the injury scene.

Cabinet Material: Steel vs Plastic vs Aluminum

Plastic cabinets (like the First Aid Only SmartCompliance plastic model) are lighter, less expensive, and easier to mount on drywall. They are fine for climate-controlled offices and light retail. They struggle in industrial environments where impacts, chemicals, or UV exposure are common.

Cold-rolled or powder-coated steel cabinets are the workhorse of the industry. They resist impacts, hold up to years of daily opening and closing, and most carry a multi-year warranty. Steel is the right choice for warehouses, manufacturing, and any facility where the cabinet will see hard use.

Aluminum cabinets are lighter than steel and resist corrosion, which makes them a fit for food processing, marine environments, and outdoor worksites. They cost more and are less common in the OSHA-compliant cabinet market.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does OSHA require in a first aid cabinet?

OSHA 29 CFR 1910.151(b) requires that adequate first aid supplies be readily available in every workplace without a nearby infirmary. OSHA does not publish a specific fill list – it points employers to ANSI/ISEA Z308.1-2021 as the source of adequate. In practice this means a compliant Class A or Class B kit based on your risk profile, visible placement, monthly inspections, and a trained first-aid responder on shift when the worksite is not near an emergency care facility.

What is the difference between an ANSI Class A and Class B first aid kit?

Class A kits are built for low-risk workplaces like offices and retail stores, and they cover common minor injuries such as cuts, scrapes, and small burns. Class B kits are built for higher-risk workplaces like warehouses, manufacturing, and construction, and they add supplies for severe bleeding, fractures, larger burns, and eye injuries – including a tourniquet, hemostatic gauze, a splint, and a larger burn dressing. If your facility uses forklifts, ladders above six feet, power tools, or chemicals, you almost certainly need Class B.

How many first aid cabinets does my workplace need?

OSHA does not publish a fixed ratio, but common practice is one Class A cabinet per 25 to 50 employees on a single floor, two cabinets per 100 employees at opposite ends of the workspace, and one cabinet per floor in multi-story buildings. Warehouses and manufacturing typically need one Class B cabinet per 75 to 100 employees per zone plus dedicated bleeding-control kits near high-hazard areas like welding bays and loading docks.

How often should workplace first aid cabinets be inspected?

OSHA does not specify an inspection interval, but industry best practice and most insurance carriers expect a documented visual check at least monthly. After any use, inspect the cabinet immediately and replace used items. A weekly visual check plus a monthly full inventory walk is what our team runs because it keeps compliance simple and catches missing items before an actual injury exposes the gap.

Does OSHA require a Class B first aid kit?

OSHA does not name Class B by regulation, but its 1910.151(b) language about adequate supplies is the basis on which inspectors push higher-risk workplaces toward Class B. If your facility has forklifts, powered equipment, ladders, sharp metal, hot surfaces, chemicals, or any environment where severe bleeding or major burns are plausible, Class B is the practical answer even if OSHA technically allows other configurations.

Final Verdict: Which First Aid Cabinet Should You Buy

For most workplaces, our pick for the best first aid cabinets for workplaces in 2026 is the First Aid Only SmartCompliance 50-Person cabinet because its color-coded refill system removes the friction that causes compliance gaps in busy offices. Pair it with a Bleeding Control Kit if your team handles any sharp tools, and add a vehicle-rated first aid kit for any field workers.

For industrial facilities, the MFASCO Class B cabinet is the most current-compliant option we tested, and the QR restocking system saves real time. For small businesses on a tight budget, the Medique 3-Shelf metal shell plus a sourced ANSI fill list delivers a durable, customizable cabinet at the lowest total cost.

Whichever cabinet you choose, schedule the first inspection on your calendar before you mount it. Compliance is a habit, not a product feature, and the best first aid cabinet for workplaces is the one your team actually checks each month. For other facility staples, our team has also reviewed 12 best bartop arcade cabinets for break rooms and 10 best gun display cabinets for security-conscious workplaces.

Leave a Comment